Republican South Carolina Gov. Henry McMaster signed a law Thursday banning abortions in the state after six weeks of pregnancy. The new law allows exceptions for fatal fetal abnormalities when the mother’s life and health are at risk. Rape victims or victims of sexual intercourse can have an abortion up to 12 weeks after submitting a police report and obtaining a certificate from two doctors.
South Carolina is the latest in a string of stricter restrictions on abortion by individual states since Roe v. Wade was overturned by the Supreme Court last summer.
Prior to the June 2022 Supreme Court decision in Dobbs & Jackson Women’s Health, 18 Republican states in the South and West, such as Alabama, Idaho, Mississippi, and South Dakota, passed so-called “trigger laws.” Abortion is prohibited at the moment of the court ruling..
In recent months, eight other Republican-led states have passed new laws banning abortions at various stages of pregnancy.
Here’s a guide to the new abortion restrictions from last summer:
The state This legalized abortion up to 22 weeks of pregnancy. Abortion providers in the state immediately filed a lawsuit against the law in state court, asking the court to place a temporary restraining order against the implementation of the law. on fridaya South Carolina judge granted the abortion providers’ request The new six-week abortion ban While the legal debate continues.
In May, a Republican-led legislature in Nebraska amended a law banning gender-affirming surgeries for those under 19 and enacted new laws banning hormone therapy and puberty-blocking drugs for abortions after 12 weeks. Then he passed the measure. It was subsequently signed by Republican Nebraska Governor Jim Pillen. There are exceptions for rape, when the life of relatives and the mother is in danger. Nebraska previously banned abortions after 20 weeks of pregnancy. In April, an effort to ban abortion after six weeks failed unanimously.
The state House and Senate overrode the governor’s veto on party-line votes, with Republicans winning three-fifths of both chambers after one Democratic state representative switched parties. State law previously banned all abortions after 20 weeks of pregnancy, and Cooper last week tried to convince at least one Republican to side with him and support the veto. North Carolina law previously banned all abortions after 20 weeks.
North Dakota passed a law on April 24 that completely bans abortions in the first six weeks of pregnancy except for rape, consanguinity and emergencies. After six weeks, only certain medical emergencies, such as ectopic pregnancy, qualify for legal abortion. In March, North Dakota’s previous abortion ban was nearly overturned. It was temporarily suspended by the Supreme Court of the region While the legal debate continues. There are no abortion clinics in North Dakota. After Roe v. Wade was overturned, the state’s only abortion clinic moved to Morehead, Minn.
A law signed in April. 14 by Govt. Ron DeSantis bans abortion after six weeks of pregnancy except for women who have been raped or are close relatives or whose health is at risk. Those seeking one of these exceptions will also be asked. Provide evidence. The new law will only take effect if the 15-week ban is upheld by the state Supreme Court in an existing legal case. The state’s highest court has a conservative majority.
The Hoosier state became the first in the country To create new abortion restrictions After the Dobbs decision. In the year In August 2022, Governor Eric Holcomb, a Republican, signed a law banning abortion, with certain exceptions. To protect the life or physical health of a pregnant woman, or if a fetus is diagnosed with a fatal anomaly, in Indiana, abortion is now allowed in the first 10 weeks of pregnancy only in cases of rape and sexual intercourse. Doctors who perform illegal abortions are to have their medical licenses revoked. Abortions can now only be performed in hospitals or hospital-owned outpatient centers—abortion clinics cannot legally operate in the state. However, the implementation of the new law has been suspended Pending the outcome of legal challenges. The Indiana State Supreme Court heard oral arguments in the case in January.
Last September, West Virginia Governor Jim Justice, a Republican; A law banning abortion has been signed Up to eight weeks of pregnancy for adults and 14 weeks for minors, except in cases of rape or sexual intercourse. It permits abortion or abortion and in case of sudden medical condition or ectopic pregnancy. Abortion providers not covered by those exceptions face up to 10 years in prison.
In March, Wyoming became the first Abortion of oral drugs should be prohibited.It accounts for the majority of abortions nationwide. The state previously had a full abortion-trigger ban on the books, but it is currently being ordered by a court to enforce it. The same abortion pill is at the center of federal lawsuits after a Trump-appointed federal judge in Texas recently overturned the FDA’s approval of the drug.
Earlier this month, Idaho became the first state to criminalize the abortion of a minor, punishing those convicted of violating the law with two to five years in prison. The law allows the state attorney general to prosecute if local prosecutors refuse to do so. It also allows family members of a pregnant girl or the person who impregnated her to sue medical professionals who provide abortions, for up to $20,000 in damages.